Hero Electric – Flash E5 Battery Explode Photo

I got a WhatsApp image from one of my friends.  In the picture, we can see an Electric bike, where the battery had exploded. The message it follows explained what had happened according to the pedestrians nearby.

People at Perungudi, looking at broken bike
Pedestrian at Perungudi looking at broken bike

The rider got some problems with his bike. The bike stopped in midway. He had sensed some irregularity and parked it on the roadside. Suddenly some smoke came from the battery compartment. When he stepped a few feet away for protection, the battery exploded. I heard the rider was safe as he had parked the bike before the battery exploded.

Possible Reason for Battery explosion

The chemicals inside the battery begin to heat up, which causes further degradation of the separator. The battery can eventually hit temperatures of more than 1,000° F. At that point the flammable electrolyte can ignite or even explode when exposed to the oxygen in the air.

No word in the public domain on the incident from Hero electric bike.

The fact is I am owning the same model.  I approached a nearby dealership to enquire about the latest price of the model. Hero electric had stopped the sale of the model.

I am not stating all the Battery vehicles are dangerous. I want to share what information, I have got. This will be awareness, to choose the battery vehicle which is tested for battery safety. On this model, I will update this blog if I get any reply from Hero Electric.

Leave a comment